Whitby

 

The ancient fishing port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk and is ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire with its superb coastline and, inland, the spectacular North York Moors. Whitby is a charming and atmospheric town of winding streets and hidden alleys, with a picturesque harbour, safe sandy beaches and, of course, the Abbey, reached by the famous 199 steps. Perched dramatically on a coastal headland Whitby Abbey is a magnificent reminder of the early church’s power and dedication. It contained the shrine to the Abbey’s founder, St Hild, who died in 680 and symbolised the continuing Christian tradition in the north.
Whitby has always had a strong sea going tradition and has been home to some famous maritime figures including Captain Cook.

 

WHAT'S ON 2008

 

Tuesday 4 - Saturday 15 March

Eskdale Festival of Arts

 

Tuesday 1 - Monday 14 April

Whitby Angling Festival

 

Friday 18 - Sunday 20 April

Spirit of the 1940's - Whitby Pavilion Complex

 

Friday 25 & Saturday 26 April

Whitby Gothic Weekend

http://wgw.topmum.co.uk

 

Wednesday 30 April

Planting of the Penny Hedge - Whitby Harbour

Penny Hedge

 

Saturday 24 - Monday 26 May

Treasure Island, Smugglers & Salty Sea Dogs Weekend - Whitby Abbey

Treasure Island

 

Tuesday 27 May - Sunday 1 June

Pirate Tales - Whitby Abbey

 

Friday 13 & Saturday 14 June

VFM Scooter Rally

 

Friday 6 - Sunday 8 June

Festival of 60's Music - Whitby Pavilion Complex

 

Friday 4 - Sunday 6 July

Whitby Soul Weekend - Whitby Pavilion Complex

 

Saturday 12 & Sunday 13 July

Whitby Lifeboat Weekend

 

Sunday 13 July

Blessing of the Boats - Endeavour Wharf

 

Saturday 9 & Sunday 10 August

Pirates of Land & Sea - Whitby Abbey

 

Saturday 2 - Monday 4 August

Whitby Regatta

www.whitbyregatta.co.uk

 

Saturday 16 - Friday 22 August

Whitby Folk Week

www.whitbyfolkweek.co.uk

 

Monday 1 - Sunday 14 September

Whitby Angling Festival

 

Friday 12 & Saturday 13 September

Country Music Weekend

 

Friday 3 & Saturday 4 October

Whitby VIP Soul Weekend - Whitby Pavilion Complex

 

Friday 31 October & Saturday 1 November

Whitby Gothic Weekend

http://wgw.topmum.co.uk

 

Saturday 29 & Sunday 30 November

Christmas Shopping Weekend & Reindeer Trail - Whitby Abbey

 

Wednesday 26 December

Whitby Lions Boxing Day Dip 10am Pier Bandstand

 

 

 

©2005 Abbey View House (01947 880 106)

Self catering holiday cottages, close to Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay, rural, quiet and relaxing with easy access to North York Moors and Coast.

 

Area Detail

Image produced from the Ordnance Survey Get-a-map service. Image reproduced with kind permission of Ordnance Survey and Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland.

Useful Links

Overview

 

Quick Links: